Entry Requirements

Access to our programmes

Participation in our programmes is predicated on the learner meeting the published access requirements for the programme in question. There are two basic requirements for participation in any given programme:

  1. Learners must have attained at least the level one below the level of the programme for which they are enrolling. (i.e., you must have achieved a Level 4 standard to participate in a Level 5 programme). If compliance with this requirement cannot be demonstrated by conventional means, then the learner has the opportunity to apply under the Recognition of Prior Learning conditions described in the Recognition of Prior Learning section of this website.
  2. For successful participation in our programmes, learners must be competent in written and spoken English. The competence level required must be at least equivalent to the CEFR B2+ standard (Common European Framework of Reference for Languages). Where there is any uncertainty about a learner’s English language proficiency, the Operations Manager may seek official certification of the learner’s recognised English Language Qualifications. Hi-Tech Training also recognises TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) and IELTS (International English Language Testing System). Other equivalent evidence may be considered on a case-by-case basis.

The following table describes access and progression routes.






Please note: –

 The above table is provided as a guide only. Entry requirements to a particular course may vary according to an individual’s aptitude, experience, qualifications, etc. For further information on our certified programmes please see the certification page on our website.

Transfer & Progression

Hi-Tech Training does not offer any major awards, so there are no internal opportunities for learners to transfer/progress to other programmes within our portfolio. Transfer and/or progression opportunities do exist external to Hi-Tech Training. For example:

  • Closed-Circuit Television and Lighting (5N1771) qualification can be used as one of the mandatory component awards leading to Security Systems Technology (5M2109) Major Award.
  • The Intruder Alarm and Access Control (5N1776) qualification can also be used as one of the mandatory component awards leading to Security Systems Technology (5M2109) Major Award

Hi-Tech Training will facilitate the communication between a learner and the Education and Training Boards (ETB) or Colleges of Further Education in relation to access, transfer and progression opportunities.

Other sources of ATP information include, the Further Education and Training in Ireland website, and Apprenticeship.ie (in relation to progression paths in Electronic Security Systems)

Please also see out Access, Transfer and Progression Policy Page


Register for your course

Browse Our Course Schedule

Register for a Course on-line Today!